Home  > About Theatre Philadelphia

Our Organization

About Theatre Philadelphia

Theatre Philadelphia unites, celebrates, and promotes the Philadelphia region's diverse and growing theatre community. We lead efforts that expand audiences and engage the public to participate in this community's work. Theatre Philadelphia envisions an equitable and inclusive region that champions and nurtures local artists. We aim to raise our city’s profile as a world-class city and enrich the lives of Philadelphia-area citizens.

Founded in 2012, Theatre Philadelphia is dedicated to bringing together and celebrating Philadelphia's diverse and growing theatre community. We are committed to leading efforts that grow audiences and promote the public participation in theatrical work. Over the past several decades, Philadelphia has transformed into a major regional theatre community, with a remarkable blossoming of new companies and new buildings, a growing pool of exceptional artists, and fiercely committed and curious audiences and supporters. Theatre Philadelphia envisions a region that celebrates this growing and ever-changing theatre community – nurturing local theatre artists, fostering the creation of extraordinary work, forging stronger connections between our art and audiences – recognizing that a diverse, robust, and thriving theatre community can play a pivotal role in making Philadelphia a world-class city. Theatre Philadelphia's programs include this website, the annual Barrymore Awards, and strategies for audience awareness and growth.


LaNeshe Miller-White, Executive Director

LaNeshe Miller-White (she/her) is a cultural producer, actress, and marketer. She is a graduate of Temple University's School of Communications and Theater. She believes in using art for social change and is the Executive Director and Co-Founder of Theatre in the X, a West Philadelphia based theater company that produces accessible theater productions for Black audiences and provides opportunities for Black artists. She became the new Executive Director of Theatre Philadelphia in August 2020.

Katherine Clark, Development and Communications Director

Katherine Elisabeth Clark (she/her) joined Theatre Philadelphia in September 2017. In her role, focuses on initiatives like MAP and C+CC, Theatre Philadelphia Emergency Relief, and Philly Theatre Week, while building audiences and awareness for Philadelphia's thriving theatre community. In addition to her work at Theatre Philadelphia, Katherine is a community arts advocate and filmmaker. Katherine double majored in Mass Communication and Literature (with a Studio Arts minor) from UNC Asheville, and earned her MFA in Film Directing from Columbia College Chicago. She loves all things Philly!

CJ HigginsOperations and Programs Coordinator

CJ Higgins (they/them) is a theatre artist who specializes in acting, directing, music, devising, playwriting, producing, and whatever else a project needs at a given moment. You may have seen their work as the Director of Production and Communications with The Hum’n’bards Theatre Troupe, through which they have collaborated on many productions including A Queer Christmas Carol, Fear Itself, and The #Knightlife Renaissance Faire. Or maybe you’ve seen them in the virtual theatre space during the pandemic in shows like We Can’t Wait (Tiny Dynamite), 154 Revisited (Revolution Shakespeare), or their daily livestream “Four PM with CJ Higgins”. They are also the co-host of My Gay Agenda, a queer interview podcast, and they were Theatre Horizon’s first season apprentice during the 2015/16 season. CJ’s mission as an artist is to use theatre as a tool for queer liberation and radical empathy. They are so excited and honored to work with Theatre Philadelphia to serve our community!


Board of Directors

Jason Lindner, President
Rachel Camp, Vice President
Emily Zeck, Treasurer
Erlina Ortiz, Secretary 
TS Hawkins
Conrad Person
Mydera Robinson
Gilberto Vega
Patreshettarlini Adams
Tai Verley
Eric Thompson
Meredith Beck
Katrina Foy

Alumni Board Members

*Susan D. Atkinson
Iain Campbell
Eileen Cella
Akeem Davis
Ryanne Domingues
Jameson Gilpatrick
*Kevin Glaccum
*Grace E. Grillet
*Leonard C. Haas
James Ijames
Matthew F. Lewandowski II
*Amy L. Murphy
*Terry Nolen
Daniel Perelstein
*Erin Reilly
*Anne Shuff
Patricia Stranahan
Anneliese Van Arsdale
*Thom Weaver
*Steve Pacek
Deborah Block Kash Goins

*Founding Board Member

Learn more about our current Barrymore Award Voters

If you are a representative of a professional theatre company and would like more information about participating in the Barrymore Awards, please see our Submit a Production to the Barrymore Awards page. If you are a theatre artist or just love theatre in Philadelphia, there are many other ways for you to get involved with Theatre Philadelphia!

Theatre Philadelphia logo
1315 Walnut Street, Suite 732
Philadelphia, PA 19107
[email protected]
Privacy Policy
© 2022 Theatre Philadelphia. All rights reserved.
Site design and development by I-SITE®
Advertise with Us